Posted on

Please No Rain

If I look above, I’m let down
in need of the a sun, change comes with a quarter moon
the stars project a milky way
the planets, like friends, keep their distance.

Andromeda and Cassiopeia wait for my revelation
Orion will ride Pegasus pleading for my belt
Ursa Minor directs me north
Ursa Major is the grizzly truth
the constellations, like saints, radiate the everlasting light
and the Pleiades will one day, come into focus.

My eyes see black and white, but choose grey
the rainbow is a covenant, light years away
your conviction is about to crest
these forty days should have been a fortnight at best
the ark, like intentions, drifts under penalty repeating
and the hope I have, will rise, with the water’s receding.

About R. Ward

A husband, father, teacher, and struggling man of God.

Leave a Reply

