Posted on

I know the snare exists

I know the snare exists
because my eyes are open.
I know the darkness enlists
because my eyes are broken.
I know the false lie
because my eyes will confess.
I know the question “why”
because my eyes are distressed.
I know the trap awaits
because my eyes harbor harness.
I know the dire straits
because my heart is farthest.

I know that I am wounded
because my eyes are shut.
I know that I am pruned
because my eyes are cut.
I know that I am devoured
because my eyes are seasoned.
I know that I am overpowered
because my eyes have reasoned.
I know that I am lost
because my eyes have been bound.
I know that I am dross
because my heart, like silver, is found.

About R. Ward

A husband, father, teacher, and struggling man of God.

One response to “I know the snare exists

  1. Cyndi ⋅

    I love this. It has such a beautiful symmetry to it. Great job.

Leave a Reply

