Posted on

Stickfigure #2

Death Row is my escape
a daily anticipation of the end
knowing my sentence will bring about
a prepositional phrase–
the last statement–
a triumphal exclamation point.
“I’ve been guilty from the beginning!”
A lethal dose of truth,
an injection straight to the veins–
I’ve had my day in court.
The evidence stacked,
the witnesses saw who I was,
but now, I’m doin’ time, doin’ time
my sin? Was always at the scene of the crime.

About R. Ward

A husband, father, teacher, and struggling man of God.

Leave a Reply

