Posted on

If I Could Be Half the Man You Are, I’d Be a Fraction

I am the over, not the under
A piece of the puzzle, but never the whole pie
A quarter moon present in a full sky
I’m on sale, and never full price.

Today I’ll be a gentleman to you
Tomorrow I’ll give you the finger
Today I’ll shake your hand
Tomorrow I’ll crush you with my fist
When I see you, its Gentile or Jew
When I see you, its your imperfections that linger
But when I gaze into the mirror stand,
I’m missing the half that makes me whole, first.

About R. Ward

A husband, father, teacher, and struggling man of God.

One response to “If I Could Be Half the Man You Are, I’d Be a Fraction

  1. slpmartin

    Very a strong and very clever poem…nice done!

Leave a Reply

