Posted on

Fill in the Blank

A survey of surprise. Comment your responses:
–If there is a moment I feel most alone its ______________________________________.

–A time when I substituted my best with an average attempt was __________________________________.

–The thing I’ve celebrated most in life is __________________________________________.

–The greatest miracle I have witnessed was ________________________________________.

–I like/dislike climbing trees because _______________________________________.

–If I could bring someone back to life ____________________________________.

–Once, “time stood still” when _____________________________________________.

–For me, the one item in my home that has no value (“priceless”) is _____________________________.

–Something I’ve read that everyone should read is _________________________________.

–Love feels like ____________________________________.

–I hope that, when I grow up, I _________________________________.

–Out of all my responses, the one most people will be surprised by is ________________________________.

–The one I am most surprised by is ___________________________________.

About R. Ward

A husband, father, teacher, and struggling man of God.

4 responses to “Fill in the Blank

  1. R. Ward ⋅

    1. If there is a moment I feel most alone its when I feel like I’ve said something stupid, and hurt someone.

    2. A time when I substituted my best with an average attempt was my first two years of college. I mean, I tried, but I could have done SO MUCH better.

    3. The thing I’ve celebrated most in life is being a husband/father. Its a tie, and there isn’t anything better.

    4. The greatest miracle I have witnessed was the birth of my son. And holding any newborn. Life is a miracle.

    5. I like climbing trees because it gives me an ever increasing height advantage over anyone in the world. And I like seeing the horizon too.

    6. If I could bring someone back to life it would be Mary or Joseph. Probably Joseph. Then I’d ask him how that nine months was like carrying around the Messiah.

    7. Once, “time stood still” when Cyndi and I received the news about our first pregnancy. If you want to know more, just ask me sometime…

    8. For me, the one item in my home that has no value (”priceless”) is our bed. That thing is amazing.

    9. Something I’ve read that everyone should read is A Grief Observed by C.S. Lewis. It breaks me every time I read it.

    10. Love feels like New England in the fall.

    11. I hope that, when I grow up, I make the kind of impact in education the way my father has.

    12. Out of all my responses, the one most people will be surprised by is #6 (bringing Joseph back to life).

    13. The one I am most surprised by is #1 (saying something stupid, hurting someone). I usually like being alone…just not in this instance.

  2. Your wife ⋅

    1. If there is a moment I feel most alone its when I am alone at night and no one is coming home. Like if Ryan is out of town for some reason.

    2. A time when I substituted my best with an average attempt was every day cleaning the house.

    3. The thing I’ve celebrated most in life is being a wife / mothers. I have never felt so much joy and anticipation!

    4. The greatest miracle I have witnessed also the birth of Gavin. The feeling of him all the sudden NOT being part of me. It was miraculous.

    5. I like climbing trees because it gives me aa feeling that anything is possible. And it is just plain peaceful to watch the branches and leaves and just be.

    6. If I could bring someone back to life it would be my grandmother. I still miss her. She was a huge prayer warrior for me.

    7. Once, “time stood still” -California Hospital room.

    8. For me, the one item in my home that has no value (pricless) is, Ryan’s writing journals.

    9. Something I’ve read that everyone should read is “A solitary Blue”.

    10. Love feels like big, fresh breath of cool air.

    11. I hope that, when I grow up, I will be as awesome as I am now.

    12. Out of all my responses, the one most people will be surprised by is #8

    13. The one I am most surprised by is #2

  3. kd. ⋅

    1. If there is a moment I feel most alone its when something from my past comes up and knocks me down and those around me have no way of understanding what I went through or how it still affects me.

    2. A time when I substituted my best with an average attempt was my freshman year of college mostly, but I’m guilty of this a lot more than I like to admit.

    3. The thing I’ve celebrated most in life is being fiercely individual. And after that, being a big sister.

    4. The greatest miracle I have witnessed watching someone cry during a normal conversation. It made me realize I wasn’t the only person who felt broken inside and I shouldn’t toy with the emotions of others.

    5. I like climbing trees because I used to climb a big oak tree in my back yard and read in it until sundown. Touching tree bark takes me back to that instantly. Always.

    6. If I could bring someone back to life it would be my mom. She’s only dead on the inside, which is worse, and I think that’s why she acts the way she does.

    7. Once, “time stood still” when I got arrested. I realized that I could not talk, smile or cry my way out of it.

    8. For me, the one item in my home that has no value (”priceless”) is my ridiculous collection of journals. They remind me of better and worse times.

    9. Something I’ve read that everyone should read is Just A Couple of Days by Tony Vigorito. Brilliance.

    10. Love feels like getting out of a hot tub and jumping in the snow. Warm, dangerous, exhilarating.

    11. I hope that, when I grow up, I am as strong as I was in my youth.

    12. Out of all my responses, the one most people will be surprised by is #6.

    13. The one I am most surprised by is #11.

  4. the oldest Einsmann girl ⋅

    1. If there is a moment I feel most alone its when I feel that I have no control over my emotions. The medicine I’m on does that sometimes, and I can’t rationalize with myself.
    2. A time when I substituted my best with an average attempt was my first year of college… and whenever I feel like it.
    3. The thing I’ve celebrated most in life is finding out who I really am, the messy, crazy individual that really is worth knowing.
    4. The greatest miracle I have witnessed have been the gradual changes in my life over the last four years.
    5. I like climbing trees because there was a willow tree on the lake in my backyard that my sisters and I used to climb every day, and it was wonderful.
    6. If I could bring someone back to life it would be my friend’s father, because I want him to see his son get married next year.
    7. Once, “time stood still” when I got thrown out of a club for being drunk. I thought I was being arrested.
    8. For me, the one item in my home that has no value (”priceless”) is my journals, even if I think they’re awful.
    9. Something I’ve read that everyone should read is Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer.
    10. Love feels like October.
    11. I hope that, when I grow up, I love people as much as I want to now.
    12. Out of all my responses, the one most people will be surprised by is #7, maybe?
    13. The one I am most surprised by is #1, because I’ve been trying to ignore it.

Leave a Reply

