Posted on

Mercurial

At this moment, I feel sane.

Sane comes and goes

Sane collapses like a waterfall

And witnessed by those

Who soak like a sponge

The first blink of an eye in the morning.

Drowning begins,

Oxygen suspends

And now I need a planner to organize my thoughts.

Pause.

Listen.

Focus.

Why are we here?

Structure my life in tabs.

Insert this thought next to rhyme

And reason

Someday I will look back and think,

“what was that all about?”

It has its proper place

Like art sandwiched in a museum

Purchase a ticket, admire from afar

And disengage long enough to consider

What restaurant we will dine at this evening.

Pause.

Still.

Breathe.

When will I be happy?

Disassemble the sputtering engine

Before the greasy wheel drives any further

It’s a vehicle destined for the junkyard

Before it even rolls from the dealership

These legs can’t carry me further

The trunk is too full

And the baggage I stuff into suitcases

Require a helicopter of lofty aspirations

To lift from the ground

And transport me to my next State of emotion.

Pause.

Blink.

Distracted.

Who am I, on any given day?

About R. Ward

A husband, father, teacher, and struggling man of God.

One response to “Mercurial

  1. Cyndi ⋅

    Love this babe!
    It has resemblance of a little polunick to me.

    Keep

    it

    up!

Leave a Reply

