Posted on

Where I’m From

(inspired by George Ella Lyon)

I am from stout beginnings
short in familiarity, long in history.

I’m from the mean streets
of Nerf hoops and diamond dreams
and the occasional leap into a pit.

I am from a sharp climb
to a flat peak
the homes of Otter
and Appalachian bluegrass.

I’m from a melodic letter
notes written on a Bach organ
or sung from an operatic tenor.

I’m from the writer’s block
two streets down, and one zip code away
from a poetic neighborhood.

I’m from a therapy physical
to theological spirit
to an apple that
fell from an educational tree.

I’m from cold hearts
and warm, seasonal sweaters.

I’m from a code of conduct
that hung like a medal
on a Marine’s uniform.

I am from an Intelligent Designer
who weaved me in my mother’s womb
and recited these lines
before they were ever written.

About R. Ward

A husband, father, teacher, and struggling man of God.

Leave a Reply

